3 IL Domestic Battery Myths
There are a few issues in the law that are as charged as domestic violence. Cases involving domestic battery can be intense for everyone involved, and being charged with this crime can turn your life inside out. Many people will make assumptions about you based on the charges without truly understanding the circumstances of your case.
Why does this happen? There are a lot of reasons, but one of the biggest is that there are a lot of myths surrounding crimes like domestic battery in Illinois. This crime has taken on a life of its own in a lot of ways in the public consciousness, impacting now only how people perceive it but also how people handle it when they are facing charges.
This is why it’s so important to set the record straight, so people can truly understand what domestic battery is and how it’s prosecuted. Here are three of the biggest myths surrounding Illinois domestic battery that everyone should know the truth behind.
Myth No. 1: Domestic Battery Isn’t Serious
Being charged with domestic battery in the state of Illinois is very serious. The consequences that can result from a conviction can impact your life forever. Sure, you can face up to 12 months behind bars and fines of as much as $2,500, but you may also be required to take classes such as anger management and complete drug and alcohol treatment.
Convictions for crimes, no matter how small, will go on your permanent criminal record as well. Anyone who does a background check on you going forward will see it, including potential landlords or employers. Even loans from banks can be placed in jeopardy if you have a criminal history.
Convictions will alter the course of your life forever, so it’s best to take charges for domestic battery seriously, even if you are innocent.
Myth No. 2: The Victim Can have the Charges Dropped
Domestic battery in the state of Illinois is considered a crime of violence. The state can prosecute you for a crime of violence, even if the victim wants the charges dropped or doesn’t want them pressed against you in the first place.
The only way domestic battery charges can be dropped in the state is if the prosecutor decides they don’t have enough evidence to win a case against you. Even then, there’s no guarantee that they will drop the charges.
Don’t be lulled into a false sense of security thinking that these charges are easy to escape, because they certainly are not due to how serious the state takes them.
Myth No. 3: You Don’t Need a Lawyer
It is true that defending yourself against charges of domestic battery in court can be costly, but that’s no reason to skip out on hiring an experienced attorney to represent you.
You may be under the impression that your side of the story is easy to tell and that your innocence will be apparent to the court, but that’s simply not true. These types of cases are very complex and there are many procedures and rules you must abide by in court that a person who isn’t a lawyer simply doesn’t know about. If you make even a small misstep, it can spell big trouble for your defense.
Hire an experienced domestic battery attorney to represent you. You’ll be glad you did.
About the Author:
Andrew M. Weisberg is a former felony prosecutor who now serves as a defense attorney in the greater Chicago area. He has extensive experience handling all types of criminal cases, from sex offenses and domestic violence to retail theft-related crimes, murder, and drug crimes. His work has been recognized by Avvo, Expertise, National Trial Lawyers, and others, and he has been featured on countless news outlets for his experience and knowledge in criminal law.